Mudra : A developed form of yoga and asanas

Written By Dr. S. Choudhary on Thursday, January 29, 2009 | 12:32 AM

The explanation of mudra has been given in a sanskrit scripture which is as follows :-
Nasti mudra sama kinchit siddhidham ksiti mandale

The meaning of the above scripture is that there is no other action on the earth providing results equivalent to mudra.

Mudra is considered as a developed form of yoga asanas. It is said that in asanas senses are primary while pranas are secondary, while in mudra it is just reverse ie pranas are primary and senses are secondary.

Categories of Mudras

There are two categories of mudras hand mudra and other one is kunalini jagarana or awakening of kundalini.

Hand mudra

Hand mudra regulates the elements, it is said that the entire Universe constitute five elements and so is our body. In hand mudra the five fingers of our hand represent the five elements. Thumb representing fire, index finger represents air, middle finger space, ring finger earth and little finger water.

Kundalini jagarana of Awakening of Kundalini

Kudalini jagarana is awakening of kundalini power which is beleived to be situated at the spinal cord called base chakra in the body. It is a cosmic energy in a coiled form.


Post a Comment