Hand mudra or hast mudra

Written By Dr. S. Choudhary on Friday, February 6, 2009 | 9:28 AM

The Universe is composed of five elements, similarly our body is also a union of five elements which is represented by our five fingers. The hand mudra regulates these five elements in our body. The fingers representing five elements are thumb for fire, index finger for air, middle finger for space, ring finger for earth and little finger for water.

To remain healthy and free from any illness or diseases, a balance is required among these five elements and any disbalance is the cause of certain diseases and illness.

Science reveals that coordination of these five elements controls the internal glands of our body parts and their physiology and functions. There are certain dormant energy in our body which gets activated by these mudras thus making us healthy and fit.

How to perform hand mudra

Mudras are generally activities of hand and fingers and can be performed at any time in any way like sitting, standing, walking or travelling.So there is no need to devote special time to perform mudra, but the maximum benefit is by doing it in sitting posture specially in vajrasana, padmasana or sukhasana. If you have constriants of time you can even perform it in installments.

Timing and duration for mudras

In the initial phase mudras should be performed for at least 10 minutes and then can be extended to 30 minutes to 1 hour. It is not necessary to leave all your normal work for 1 hour to perform mudras as it can be done at any time any place and in any posture, even if you cant perform at a stretch you can do it in 2-3 installments.

Types of hand or hast mudras

Hand mudras are of 11 types. Each type of mudra have some specific action and benefits. Procedure for each mudra is given separately.
Clickable link is there in each mudra enumerated below.
To know performance and benefits kindly go through each of them.
1. Gyan or dhyan mudra
2. Vayu mudra
3. Sunya mudra
4. Prithvi mudra
5. Prana mudra
6. Apana mudra
7. Apana vayu mudra
8. Surya mudra
9. Varuna mudra
10. Linga mudra
11. Dharana shakti mudra


Post a Comment